More and more students are moving abroad for higher education. There are people who think there is an advantage to it but a few say that there are some drawbacks as well. What can be the merits and demerits of studying abroad?

Nowadays, people, in order to get a higher education, leave their countries. Some believe this trend can bring certain advantages, and others say that drawbacks are more crucial. While this trend undoubtedly presents challenges, I would contend that it is, for the most part, advantageous.

Initially, it is essential to consider some possible downsides to going abroad for education purposes. First and foremost, students may face a high cost of life necessities. The price of products, transportation, and rent will differ; consequently, students may suffer from a lack of money. Therefore, they will overwork in order to make a living. Apart from a lack of money, students will feel a cultural shock. For example, a student will see aspects of life which will differ from his own habits, such as another type of communication, unusual system of education, and weather conditions. These peculiarities may cause discomfort and a great sense of isolation.

Despite these drawbacks, I believe the benefits of changing a country to study are more crucial. One of the most obvious advantages is a high quality of education. A high number of abroad universities take leading positions in world rankings. More specifically, such universities have more convenient methods of teaching, modern facilities, and a strong faculty. As a result, students will gain more knowledge. Moreover, foreign universities can be a significant catalyst of cultural diversity. Thus, by living overseas, a student will learn another language and adapt to different cultures, which develops flexibility of thinking and intercultural skills.

In conclusion, studying abroad has both pros and cons. However, despite some disadvantages, I believe that the former outweighs the latter because of a high-quality education and cultural knowledge.