More and more students at universities today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What could be the possible effect of this?

Recent years have witnessed a lot of students at university are not choosing to study science. This essay attempts to outline the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon before highlighting light on several negative consequences of this trend.

There are two main factors explaining why there are a large of students do not want to study science. The primary reason is these science subjects are largely difficult and boring as students just learn theory the most. Besides, in this digital age, these subjects’ applicability is not as high as practical subjects like math and languages, which may affect the economic majors. For instance, a student who studies math can do a variety of majors, while science students just can work in this sector. Consequently, many individuals consider this major less attractive.

The waning interest among students in studying science can give rise to far-reaching repercussions. Firstly, the loss of innovations in science may cause a negative impact on work productivity. This is because science leads in new technologies and methods so if science vanished, it would hinder social development. Worse still, businesses would get stuck using outdated tools and processes without this ongoing development, then this can make work slower and less efficient. Additionally, a lack of scientific research could lead to slower development of new medicines, treatments, and preventative measures for diseases.

In conclusion, the difficulty and less applicability of science give rise to the loss of intention on this subject. Furthermore, this issue still causes a negative effect on work productivity and social development.