More and more students at universities today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What could be the possible effect of this?

Recent years have witnessed a shift in the preferences of university students as they are less likely to choose science as their major. This essay attempts to shed light on the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon before concluding that this trend is largely disadvantageous to both individuals and society.

The dwindling popularity of scientific majors among university students can be attributed to two main factors. Chief among these is the practicality of such majors in the job market. With the main driving force of attending tertiary education for students being seeking brighter job prospects, they are more inclined to opt for professions that are more applicable to real life like economics and public relations, for instance. This makes the choice of science study far less desirable for learners, as the subjects heavily emphasize on theories and formulas, which are of little use in common occupations. In addition, the knowledge in the curriculum of Science majors is oftentimes complex and requires high level of intellectual ability to fully grasp the concepts, rendering many students shun these professions.

Although the less practical use and high difficulty level of Science professions may avoid students from learning these subjects, I am convinced that they come at the expense of more pronounced problems. The primary concern is the reduced productivity of the workforce as a whole with the absence of Science majors. Without those well-versed in Science, the job market will face a significant lack of innovative, flexible and adaptive employees, directly impacting work productivity. On a grander scale, this shift would hinder social development. If we pictured a world without science, we would realize that anything lacks solid foundation, as science is the bread and butter of our world, and with thousand years of evolution, the logicality developed through this field is a necessity.

In conclusion, the waning popularity of Science subjects stems from its impracticality and complexity as a major. Despite certain obstacles in pursuing these subjects, I would contend that this choice can bring about long-lasting social impact, potentially jeopardizing the workforce’s efficacy.