More and more young people are using dating websites nowadays. Is it a positive or negative development?

Online dating sites have continuously increased in popularity ever since the introduction of the internet. Naturally, young people would be the target audience for these sites, but I believe that this is a negative development because of the problems it can cause as well as reducing the emotional impact of dating when done without using these websites.

From what we all know, dating websites do not come free without problems. Due to the nature of people on the internet, dating websites can be misused by pretending to be someone else, or to trick someone to give money for a fake relationship. Meeting someone on the internet whose identity is unknown but expecting to be a lifelong partner could lead to unexpected negative results that are not a development for the growth of society.

Furthermore, online dating sites completely removes the emotional and important experience when meeting someone for the first time. By using online apps to chat with someone, it reduces the impact that would have been experienced when meeting in person, consequently reducing the chances of having a long-lasting relationship, which in turn could also lead to mental health problems. Despite the advancements in technology, people still should not forget about socializing outside of the internet in order to keep their mental health and to forge better relationships.

In conclusion, the growing trend of online dating sites is a negative development to society nowadays. This is because online dating sites can be misused by its users, and it doesn’t produce the same emotional experience as meeting in person. Young people should not learn to solely rely on these tools as it can cause severe problems to their development.