More criminals are tend to commit further commitments after being released. What are the causes and solutions?

More and more offenders commit further crimes after being released. While ex-prisoners have to face a number of barriers after getting outside, I strongly believe that there are also many possible solutions that mitigate recidivism.

Firstly, we have a look at some challenges that parolees have to encounter. The primary problem is a lack of job opportunities. It’s really difficult to find a job for people who were once incarcerated. As most careers are simply off-limits to people who have a criminal record, Also, there is a shortage of reentry or educational programs as well. Usually, those programs are underfunded, not rigorous enough, or might not exist at all. Those programs play a crucial role for prisoners, as they help to socialize inmates and prepare for reintegration. Ultimately, there is no single approach that works the best for parolees. What is crucial to the success of criminals is what is delivered to them, by whom, and in what fashion.

On the other hand, we can make some improvements to reduce the risk of returning to criminal behavior. While on probation, inmates should be given chances to gain certifications and participate in work assignments that mimic outside employment environments. Moreover, more and more educational and reality programs need to be included in prisons. Take, for example, finishing their majors and learning technical skills and lessons that help them reintegrate into society. Lastly, providing a wide range of therapies is the most needed and life-changing. Those can be family therapy, cognitive and motivational therapies, or interviews.

In conclusion, recidivism has become widespread in the last few years. I feel that the lack of employment opportunities, reentry programs, and the absence of a one-size-fits-all approach contribute to the increase in recommitments. However, introducing more job options, educational programs, and various therapies can greatly decrease recidivism.