Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

Vocational skills and specialization is a fundamental requirement of almost every profession, even though numerous educational institites provide courses related to history and social science. This essay will highlight benefits and drawbacks associated with these approach.

By far the most critical advantage is social awareness. Subjects like civics is about becoming a better citizen and community welfare, and can help juvenile to achieve good status in society. For example, Environment protection, wildlife preservation and economic are the subjects which can motivate an individual towards making any valuable contribution for nation. An additional merit is of cultural values; If we want our traditions and heritage to inspire future generation, they must be taught ancient scripture and history like reason for cementing monuments, stories about brave kings and kingdoms etc.

A weakest element in this approach is job requirements. Corporate world demands employees with rigorous training, and with strong background in technical and unconventional skills only, such that job interviews are designed to test knowledge and ability, not memorized historical events. Another drawback aligned with it is ancient information is irrelevant to modern world, as in this changing environment, civilians necessities vary continuously, which cannot be fulfilled by data of wars in past. To illustrate, to run a successful business, intense grip on management and marketing tactics is needed, rather than learning related to a king’s lifestyle.

In conclusion, extracurricular skills and academic distinction is an inevitable requirement for a successful career, though in addition, Knowledge in areas of ancient history and social studies can elevate one’s understanding, which is regarding construction of monuments, environment protection and wildlife preservation.