Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

Nowadays, many jobs require a specific set of skills and in-depth knowledge of the subject that are supposed to be obtained in schools. Nevertheless, curriculums still include a variety of general knowledge subjects, such as history, geography or social studies. This essay will demonstrate the advantages and disadvantages of this approach and its impact on future careers.

Many experts argue that unnecessary focus on academic training reduces time that can be spent on vocational training. In our fast-paced competitive world, it is essential to hand-on-job experience as soon as possible to gain an advantage while applying for a job. In other words, the sooner one finishes learning theory, the sooner they can start practice. Moreover, if a candidate already has enough practical knowledge, the company does not need to train him and teach the basics. Therefore, they can proceed to working immediately and lower time for preparation of the employee and the amount of money spent on training.

However, academic subjects are included in the curriculums for a reason. A person is defined not only by his job but is more than just his work in the office or factory. Subjects such as history and social studies provide people with general knowledge, give them a better understanding of the world and develop a well-rounded workforce that can communicate freely about any topic. Additionally, there are professions, like law, politics, sociology, that require fundamental knowledge of basic history and social studies, as it gives a full picture of the past and, hence, helps to estimate the consequences and possible solutions to modern problems.

To sum up, though vocational skills are crucial to be a better specialist and cultivation of them brings many advantages to employers, we should not forget that it is more important to create a well-educated society than just an efficient workforce.