Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

Nowadays,vocational skills or specialist knowledge become more valued. Despite the fact that vocational skills are more preference, most educational programs still tech academic subjects for their students such as history or social studies. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this educational approach.

On the one hand,one of the main advantages of teaching academic subjects is the development of critical thinking and analytical problem skills. Academic subject, history or social studies, help students to foster thinking and the ability to evaluate different perspective. It’s not only promote cultural awareness but also enhance civic perspective. Moreover, academic programs provides a foundation for higher education as many professional careers, such as law, doctor , and etc need a strong academic backgrounds. The interview of BBC, for instance, are all regular organizers of programs that require a lot of knowledge of historical and social events.

On the other hand, there are also significant drawbacks to emphasizing academic subjects over vocational. Teaching these kinds of subjects can waste amount of time of students as not every students aim for universities, some may wish to purse trades or enter the workforce directly. These subjects may difficult for students to learn if it require memory and problem solving skills. Without access to vocational education, these students may feel unprepared for their future life or even limit their future opportunities.

In conclusion, while academic subjects, history or social studies, play a crucial role in developing informed individuals, they may not adequately prepare students for the demands of a skill-based job market.