What are the pros and cons of internatonal student exchange

International student exchange programs have long been an aspiration for students seeking cross-cultural experiences. For this reason, this essay will elaborate on their advantages and disadvantages.

On one hand, engaging in international student exchange programs can help students become more open-minded towards cultural diversity. When participating in international exchange programs, young minds have opportunities to be exposed to people from different cultures and to make friends with a variety of people. This means that youngsters can learn about others’ ways of life through daily conversations with their friends or group outings. Thus, youngsters can gain more knowledge about each region’s traditions, which helps them become more tolerant of different cultures. As a result, by providing opportunities to meet people from different corners of the world, international student exchange programs might help youngsters broaden their horizons.

On the other hand, participating in international student exchange programs may lead to students lagging behind in their studies. Although exchange students can take tests given by the host country, they might also be required to sit exams at their home schools as well. This is highly disadvantageous for exchange students, since they are no longer accustomed to learning through their national programmes but through international ones. Hence, exchange students are more likely to struggle with their studies and experience poorer academic performance. This, in the long run, might compel exchange students to drop out of school, directly affecting their academic performance. Consequently, international student exchange programs may inevitably undermine students’ academic performance.

All things considered, while international student exchange programs might help youngsters become more open-minded, their negative impacts on students’ academic performance should not be overlooked.