Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

As the majority of companies conduct an interview before choosing the right person for a certain position is a crucial part of their future achievements and success. I believe that this is only useful for some professions and the best way to choose workers is by their portfolios or trial period

Firstly, it is a good way for employers to interview people because they will be aware of their knowledge of working with people. To put it another way, it will help employers to be aware of a person’s anxiety, communication, how fast she or he will respond to the question and deal with it. However, there are various professions that the result of interview will be inaccurate. In other words, professionals such as architects and engineers must not be offered jobs by interview as their professionalism and skills cannot be fully understandable which can later be a reason for unsuccessful project. A number of house building companies, for instance, hired architects and labours by interviewing and the result was not satisfying. Moreover, some of them were not professionals.

From my point of view, one way is studying their portfolios and after that if there is a need, to callfor an interview. Secondly, it is better to organize tests or volunteering periods. To put it simply, it is a short time interval which lasts for 1 or 2 weeks. It is completely enough for bosses to see how a person copes with a certain job. For example, a business school of marketing and innovations learns about a person’s skills, organizes probation period after which decide to offer a job or not.

In conclusion, for some jobs it is essential to have a discussion with the person offering, while I assume that reviewing their portfolios and making trial period is more effective.