Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspapers or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

Nowadays, the widespread use of electronic devices have become popular, and this issue has a direct effect on changing people’s lifestyle. Numerous people would rather get news online instead of reading newspapers or watching TV. While I believe that people should adapt to new progress, they do not ignore old methods. Now I want to discuss this in my essay.

First of all, Reading news on the Internet plays a vital role in reducing deforestation globally. Cutting down trees and printing a plethora of newspapers have an adverse impact on global warming. For example, the numerous trees in the Amazon forest have been destroyed and turned to paper, and it is not easy to plant new trees. Thus, this development leads to helping the environment, and many environmentalists make an effort to prevent producing the new paper.

Furthermore, reading newspapers and watching TV have a positive image on people’s minds. People like to spend their time in a living room with their families, watching TV, reading newspapers, and interacting with them. As a result of the development in technology, people tend to go online and get new information and waste their time on the Internet. A particularly good example here is that young people stay in their bedrooms for a long time and do not spend time with their families. Thus, this issue has become a bad culture.

In conclusion, while I believe that reading newspapers and watching TV leads to less environmental damage and reduces deforestation, but it may cause a sedentary lifestyle.