Most people try to balance between work and other parts of their lives. Unfortunately, not many achieve this balance. What problems can this cause? Suggest some solutions.

In this day and age, balancing personal and professional life is crucial for everyone. Some people can achieve it without any issues, while others cannot carry out this balance. In this essay, I will explain the reasons leading to this tendency before proposing some effective solutions.

There are some major reasons that explain why an abundance of people cannot achieve this balance. The key one is the burden of a heavy workload. Intense competition in the labor market requires employees to be in charge of more duties in order to secure employment opportunities. This results in an increase in tasks, working overtime, leaving little time and energy for leisure and personal life. To be more specific, in China, many companies enforce a “996” work culture, demanding employees to work from 9 am to 9 pm, six days a week. This intense schedule leaves workers feeling exhausted, depressed, and with little time for rest and personal life.

The government plays an important role in addressing the challenge of work-life balance. It is believed that authorities should impose laws on labor working hours to reduce the frequency of working overtime. Therefore, the company should implement a flexible schedule to help employees have more time for self-care and maintain their mental health. For example, the company can allow personnel to work from home several days a week or offer options for staggered start and end times. This flexibility can enhance their productivity, reduce stress, and increase overall job satisfaction.

In conclusion, people cannot achieve the goal of work-life balance due to the pressure of heavy workloads. However, government intervention and corporate flexibility can solve this problem.