Most schools are planning to replace sport and exercise classes with more academic sessions. How will this change affect children's lives in your view?

Many educational institutions are planning to alter sports lessons with scientific classes, such as math and physics. I believe that kind of change will have a bad impact on children’s physical and mental health.

With fewer exercise sessions, children will have many health problems, such as bad eyesight, back pains, and obesity-related illnesses. In other words, spending more time sitting on a chair while reading or solving tasks without much exercise can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. That can badly affect a child’s weight or posture. Therefore, due to the overhelmed load on eyes from reading and smartphones, children will have eye problems. For example, the Chinese government recently replaced sports sessions with math and chemical classes, and while medical observation noticed that many students overall health decreased by 14%.

Increasing academic lessons can tend to cause mental problems, including a high level of stress and depression. This is because if school values academic subjects more, minors will aspire to achieve high grades in this subject. As a result, who cannot deal with it will be under stress and even can be bullied by other classmates. Moreover, exercise lessons help with concentration and depression because during sports sessions, minors can relax and enjoy the process. For instance, Cambridge University recently studied that a few exercises a day can decline stress and depression levels by 15% and lift mood and increase energy.

In conclusion, a growing number of schools are planning to substitute sports classes with academic sessions. I suppose this phenomenon will have detrimental effects on children’s mental and physical well-being.