Most schools are replacing traditional textbooks with digital learning materials. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern times, many schools are moving towards digital learning materials instead of using traditional textbooks. This change has both positive and negative effects. In my opinion, it has a entirely positive development because it makes learning more interesting and easier. This is because of several reasons.

One of the advantages is that it is more environmentally-friendly as compared to hardcopy of books because it reduces the deforestation rates which are increasing in order to gain more papers. It is more accessible and flexible due to the fact that students can access almost all the books whether it is a novel, science-fiction, documentary and course related books from anywhere in the world just with a single device and an individual need not have to carry all the heavy materials.

Furthermore, virtual learning is more affordable and convenient in contrast to handouts as schools save printing cost. Moreover, its personalised features allow students and adults to learn from various e-platforms of their choice which results in an increase in productivity and efficiency of a student.Digital platforms provide the opportunity to gamify learning which helps learning concepts almost effortlessly. People from rural areas can also learn without facing financial issues as it is rarely possible that in a house there is no smart device available. For instance, there is a boy who does not belong from a well-settled family due to which he faces financial issues and he has to drop out of school, but the benefit he has is that he has a smart phone from which he is learning all the conceptual things that are taught in schools.

In conclusion, using digital instructional materials makes education more flexible, affordable, engaging and eco-friendly . If school teaches technology in a balanced way, they can enjoy the benefits without facing major problems.