Most schools give homework to their students. Why is homework important for the students? How is the ideal homework a teacher gives?

From the past until today, homework has been given to students to help with studying. Some people think that there is no use in it because students already practice their assignments in class. Others may even think that the amount of work the teacher assigns is too much. This essay aims to answer why homework is given and what the ideal amount is.

All students are not the same. Some students understand the teacher in front of the class, or have the confidence to ask the teacher about the parts they do not understand. Others may not even understand a single thing the educator is talking about or have the confidence to ask. That is where school assignments play their part. Homework is key for students because it helps them understand the topic. Whether they look it up online, use AI, or ask other students to teach them, it is useful because it encourages students to self-study. Self-study is a study technique that helps students understand more in depth.

In school, there are a lot of things that students can do, for example: sports clubs, debate clubs, etc. Some of them may not even have the time to do their homework because of the number of projects the teacher assigns. The ideal number of homework assignments that a teacher can give is one per subject. In Indonesia, 10th graders have 16 subjects in school. With the enormous number of school courses, many educators tend to give more than two assignments per subject. Because of that, students are drained mentally and physically, especially when students have extracurricular activities after school.

In conclusion, the importance of homework to students is related to the amount that is assigned to them. By keeping their mental health in mind, we could benefit from a positive learning experience that helps students excel in their academic growth.