Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Motorways are ubiquitous nowadays because of their convenience for commuting. However, there are some issues that motorways have caused. This essay will name some of the problems and will suggest ways to improve the situations.

Standing first on the list is traffic accidents, which might be the most common issue caused by highways. Although motorways have the better design than the other types, accidents such as vehicle collisions happen frequently due to the high speed, and that was always because of the drivers are not careful. One solution for this is that the governments should enhance speed management. There are some methods to control travelers’ speed, such as installing speed radar to detect drivers exceeding the speed limits and promptly deal with them, or using cameras to observe drivers. In Hai Phong – a city in Vietnam, has set the suitable speed limitation after so many serious cases happened. As a result, the percentage of traffic accidents in the city in recent years has decreased steadily.

The second common problem caused by motorways is traffic jams. Traffic congestions are frequent in rush hour, especially in special events or holidays. This leads to longer travel time and, at the worst situation, accidents. This problem can be improved by enhancing alternative routes. Building more supporting routes and alternative routes, as well as developing the infrastructure of those routes for congestion circumstances. Furthermore, governments should encourage people to use the supporting routes to reduce the burden on main highways. In some districts in Hai Phong city, traffic jams on motorways have been lessen day by day since they started using supporting routes.

In conclusion, although motorways bring us benefits, they caused serious problems such as vehicles accidents and traffic congestions. To deal with these issues, strengthen speed control and improving other possible routes are essential.