Multicultural societies, where people of different groups live together, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Multiculturalism is a modern philosophy that societies composed by multiple ethnic groups are more robust, democratic and adaptable to modern world challenges. Despite existing some drawbacks in this viewpoint, I mostly agree that multicultural societies bring more benefits and this essay with dive into the arguments for this.

The first argument in favour of multicultural societies is that they contain a diverse demographic capital that strengthen competitiveness. First and foremost, diverse societies are formed by people migrating from multiple places around the world. Consequently, these people bring with them set of beliefs, ideologies and human resources that not only complement one another but also compete with each other, resulting in a robust society with less weak points. The United States of America is the greatest example of how a great power was formed by the immigration of the brightest people from Europe, Africa and Asia. These people do not only bring technical advancements, but they compose the cultural lore of modern American society.

Another advantage of multicultural societies is diverse populations have strong bonds with their birth places, which have an upmost diplomatic utility. Although populations coming from different backgrounds often end mixing, they do not fully abandon contacts with their place of origin, which has positive geopolitical advantages in comparison to isolated societies. For instance, Brazil is another multicultural country forged by the immigration from multiple countries. As a result, Brazil has amicable relations with all countries mostly due to their own population bonds with these nations. In comparison, ethnically homogenous and self-isolated societies, such as North Korea, lack strong diplomatic bonds.

In contrast, one drawback of multiculturalism is that not all countries are well prepared to manage different groups of people living in coexistence. Countries that do not have protocols in place to accommodate different groups of people within their own society can face negative consequences. Such issues often arrive as an initial side effect of demographic diversification in very homogenous societies. To exemplify, European countries have been subject of mass immigration since mid-2010s mostly from Middle Eastern countries seeking refuge, but countries like Germany and France did not control immigration, nor made integration efforts, which has resulted in violent ethnic clashes.

In conclusion, diverse and multicultural countries are often more robust, developed and have geopolitical and diplomatic advantages than isolated homogenous societies. Although there are certainly side effects of multiculturalism, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.