Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

International firms are being more common in developing regions. This essay will examine why raising stable employment opportunities for people in needs is the strength, as well as the reason of homogeneity of goods as the drawback under this phenomenon.

Multinational companies created more stable job opportunities for minorities than the local businesses do. Generally, international enterprises requires enormous human resources for diverse range of sectors, such as logistics, office, branches, etc. To exemplify, McDonald’s, one of the well-known global franchises in Hong Kong, hire vast employees due to their high demand of human resources. The most typical cases are the staffs who are responsible to clean up tables. McDonald’s hire a lot of people just for maintaining a clean environment in various branches. Since it does not require good command of skills, they conduct social corporate responsibility (CSR) to provide such opportunities to minorities, such as people with Down’s syndrome, the elderly, etc. Furthermore, as a large company, McDonald’s has a higher likelihood to provide more stable positions to staffs than the small local enterprises do. To illustrate, local businesses have poorer cash flow, which may lead to an inability to continue business, thereby firing the staffs.

Nonetheless, there is also drawback due to the increasing number of international firms, which is homogeneity of goods. The lack of product diversity causes when vast global enterprises establish franchises in a single place. As an illustration, there are excessive international clothing brands locate in Hong Kong, such as Zara, H&M, and GU. These brands’ goods usually have similar design. However, this environment leads to homogeneity, you will find it boring shopping in many stores but with similar products. It is also worth to mention that it mitigates the chances of developing small local businesses because people are so used to purchase the products from such large supply chains.

In conclusion, the raising number of international businesses secure a certain amount of job opportunities with stability for people in needs. Nevertheless, we cannot the ignore the issue of lacking diversity of products the multinational companies bring.”