Music education should be a higher priority in schools because it helps young people develop their abilities in other areas of life. To what extent do you agree? Give reason for your opinion.

There can be no doubt that the topic of music learning is one which deserves some analysis. It is the opinion of this writer that the weight of evidence tips the scales towards those who believe all schools should teach music more.

Central to this issue is the point that music is relaxing. As should be self-evident, pupils have to suffer from stressful study programs nowadays. Vietnam is a fitting example here, as teenagers have to spend averagely 6-7 hours per day at school plus 2-3 hours in extra classes. As a result, youngsters need relaxing moments from study, and music can serve that.

The idea that melodies stimulate neural cells is also of decisive importance. For example, a recent study by The University of Medicine in Vietnam showed those often listening to music can react to information more quickly than those who do not. One should also note that music listeners have sound and safe sleeps at night.

Thus, it can be seen that there are several merits for education of music. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that music should be prioritized more at schools.