News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Is their influence generally positive or negative?

What a boon it would be if individuals were aware of the superficiality of media in information. This essay will reveal this major merit of media, as well as provide my opinion of its permanent influence and development in the long run.

One justification for my argument is that hardly anyone can deny the insatiable appetite of humans for the latest updates amidst the digital age and the explosion of information. Not only do we need to know about our loved ones and neighbors , but also the current context in our nations, and even beyond the borders of our countries. In fact, a life without media is totally unacceptable. Media moguls, therefore, have faced endless demand, and have become one of the most important fields requiring attention from all walks of life.

However, this also comes with its share of problems in misinformation. Bad actors can easily take advantage of this digital age, spreading misleading and inappropriate content across various platforms. More than ever, media consumers are at risk of their personal information, finance, and even their lives. Not to mention, the young generation—the future of nations—most exposed to technology, are having their mindsets and behaviors negatively affected .

Fortunately, there have been policies to protect users. This is evident in Meta, with its famous applications such as Facebook, Instagram, and Threads, showing consideration for children’s safety on media. They have age confirmation and useful content filters . Besides, individuals’ awareness has significantly increased, along with their basic knowledge in protecting themselves from dangerous content. As a result, the vitality of media is maintained currently and will continue into the future despite the many challenges facing society

In conclusion, it is apparent that media has a significant impact on our lives, including the endless need for information and the accumulation of knowledge. Despite issues arising along the way, I firmly believe that media influence is inevitable.