News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Is their influence generally positive or negative?

In recent years, there has been a noticeable trend where new media is seen as an indispensable part in our daily life. This change can be considered quietly crucial and its influence might be positive for citizens.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why I believe that news media is so important. First of all, it helps people update the news information up to the minute on a wide range of topics such as economy, politics, environment, etc. It means that citizens can easily make well-informed decisions and apply them in their daily lives. This is perfectly exemplified in the case of the Covid-19 pandemic when we did not have vaccines, social media platforms play an essential part in broadcasting in preventing and controlling the pandemic. Secondly, it also serves as a huge platform that provides information from different angles. From there, it instils an individual’s full understanding of a subject, topic or discussion via multifaceted discussions published on the mass media. Consequently, dwellers can open to new cultures and different mindsets on global perspective.

On the other hand, this influence brings both advantages and disadvantages. One of the most outstanding things is that it promotes transparency and informs the public. People can take action on critical issues such as climate change, social justice, etc. For example, with the advent of technological devices, individuals can update and stay informed with news trends, campaigns, and methods throughout the Internet, and they can contribute their efforts or influences to preserve the environment and wild animals. However, it also contributes to misinformation in mass media. In order to attract viewers and readers, some media outlets might prioritize sensational stories over factual reporting. As a result, i can lead to the spread of false information which can cause confusion and overload information for users.

In conclusion, while news media can play a significant role in their daily lives like helping people stay informed and providing full understanding from different angles, I consider it can bring both pros and cons for citizens and society.