News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

During the recent times, photography has seen a boon in all parts of life. Some people opine that picture speaks thousand words and I completely agree to them. This essay shall highlight that though words in print are relatively expressive but adding a picture definitely brings an immense weight to the story.

After the introduction of smart phones and internet, taking pictures and communicating through these photos are highly preferred. The latest trends of emoticons on mobile applications depict about the hype and how the whole society is fond of the pictures. In a research survey, it was found that while sending text messages, 97% of the text are with some kind of image. So, it can be said that pictures are used for the entertainments purposes as well.

Adding a picture makes the story and understanding of it clearer. It aides our imaginative mind. For example, the documentary on dinosaurs on TV channels will be understood easily if accompanied by the picture of dinosaurs. This way different newspapers and magazines too, can make their black and white print attractive and decrease the boredom that can come from just reading or listening them.

To conclude, images bring a connection and depicts more actions to the story. They are so important that are considered as important evidence in the court of law in every country. Therefore, its rightly said that photos capture the moment as they are, but it depends on the person how many meaning it can bring from it.