News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

In today’s globalized world, media frequently combines news with pictures. There is a growing belief that news attached with pictures can create more convenient connections with people, as a common language versus words. This proposal seems largely rational, from my personal perspective, as pictures can attract a wide range of people from the oldest to the youngest.

Firstly, as a main source of meaning transition, photos are a crucial part of media’s foundation. If journalists utilize photos and videos to explain their news, they would make connections easier with people, and absorb more people’s attraction. Specifically, when illiterate individuals encounter newspapers with photos, they can conveniently comprehend a summary about the news. For example, disabled people like a deaf person can simply glance at photos to realise contexts. Consequently, when compared with written news, photos are attached to news, leaving a lasting impression on their audience.

In addition, pictures can efficiently convey emotions rather than words to readers, contributing to emotional connections between writer and readers. Moreover, this method highlights the importance of news. To be more precise, during the World War two, photographers had taken pictures from the crimes committed by Hitler, which demonstrates clarified crimes against humanity. A pertinent example is Masoud Pezeshkian, the Iranian President, displayed photos of people who were killed by Israel during the twelve days war for countries’ representatives, leading to sparking feelings. Hence, pure news cannot solely indicate the depth of tragic events without documents.

To sum up, I strongly assert that the role of pictures in conveying meaning is undeniable, and they are more effective than words. They not only can explain complex events but also can impact on a diverse range of people as a universal language