News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Pictures are commonly used to broadcast news on television channels and magazines. Some persons believe that it is more powerful in describing the story than with the use of words.In my own opinion, I would argue that both pictures and words when rightly combined would best describe an event.This essay will further elaborate on my view.

Most news editors take a lot of photos surrounding an event and go ahead to publish them alongside written words in newspapers and on television channels. This is due to the fact that their story is better appreciated by the target audience if photographic images are attached. Furthermore, the human brain gains a speedy understanding of a story when pictures surrounding the scene are attached. For instance, in an accident scene, photos of those involved will not only attract readers, but will also make them want to know about the exact cause of the incident. Also, some readers are not well educated and would benefit from photos than word.

However, even though photographs captivate an audience, events described with words alongside pictures gives a detailed knowledge. With the use of words, minute details surrounding the events which cannot be described with pictures alone, can be spelt-out. Also,words help to arrange a story in such a way that it will be coherent, thus giving the targeted audience a better opportunity to appreciate the news. More so, there might not be enough pictures to describe the events as most circumstances are unexpected and unforeseen, but people around could provide few information that will be attached to the pictures in written words. For instance, the picture of a shipwreck will only tell the audience that the ship got damaged but adding words to the story will provide the readers with minute details such as, the cause of the wreck, the time it happened, the persons involved, amongst others. This is why most news editors prefer to use both diagrams and letters to tell their story.

In conclusion, the frequent use of pictures to describe a story on television channels and newspapers have made some persons think of it as a more powerful method than words. This essay has however shown that in my opinion, the use of both pictures and words will perfectly describe an event.