“Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

These days, people are fond of experiencing things they see in advertisements. They don’t even hesitate to try alternative medicines and treatment if they offer them a little benefit by letting them save some amount of their money which they likely spend on a doctor’s visit. This tradition according to me is not at all a positive development because it is equivalent of putting one’s health into serious risks.

One major problem this trend can cause is the wrong diagnosis of the disease by the people themselves. For example, if an individual experience symptoms of fever and starts taking medication by their own, the fever might get treated in the short term but what if the fever is due to some virus like covid. In that case, the medicines they took based on their own knowledge might affect their immunity and their situation might get much worse after a few days and can lead to death too. Therefore, I think visiting a doctor is crucial as trying alternative medicines for a disease someone diagnosed themselves can take a toll on their health.

Sometimes, people think if they don’t consult a doctor and go for alternative medicines and treatments, they would be able to save the money they would likely spend for doctor’s fee. In my opinion, this is a very blunt attempt of saving money. In short term, one might be able to save money by taking medicines based on their experience or other’s advice but they never know what’s the root cause of a minor fever or a flu. What seems to be a minor fever can result into a serious viral, Dengue or Malaria. If this happens unfortunately, they get to spend money on doctor’s visit and treatment eventually. As a result, they end up spending more money than the doctor’s treatment. Hence, being a miser in this case is never a good idea.

Avoiding doctor’s visit and trying alternatives on one’s own is not all acceptable. This is in no way a positive development and should be discouraged because a life and health cannot be considered trivial.