“Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

There is a growing trend of individuals choosing alternative treatments over traditional doctor visits for their health concerns. While this trend can be described as positive, I am of the view that it is generally a change for worse.

Seen in a positive light, growing usage of alternative practices comes with a promise of preventative care, which leads to lifestyle changes: diet, exercise, or even stress management. This holistic approach can be appealing and beneficial for some as it treats the “whole” person. Moreover, exploring alternative options can empower individuals to take control of their health and make choices that align with their convictions. Another explanation for its convenience is that alternative therapies can offer a lifeline of hope and potential relief for patients seeking solutions beyond conventional medicine.

Convenient as it may seem, I personally consider this trend as negative for various reasons. Chief among them is a lack of scientific evidence, meaning that other options apart from doctor visits can impact negatively on one’s health, causing some side effects. Many alternative treatments lack rigorous scientific research to support their effectiveness and safety. Throughout recent history, while it has been possible to recover with the help of non- conventional practices, the majority, having used these healing therapies, have still not been satisfied with the outcomes. Moreover, relying solely on wellness practices can lead to misdiagnosis or delay in seeking necessary traditional medical treatment for serious conditions.

In conclusion, while the decision to use alternative medicine is a personal one, it is vital to be informed of its side effects.