Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health issues are changing different medicines and treatments instead of going to see their usual doctor. I personally believe that this trend is largely a negative development.

In today’s advanced world, modern medication has become more and more developed, so that a vast majority of diseases can be cured during a short period. In this way, people are getting impatient to wait and see outcome of health care system to be treated and recovered. In other words, they are more likely to alter to other medical option instead of following the present prescription for a certain period unless they are not satisfied with their current treatment. However, most of medicines and treatments are effective after being taken and applied for an instructed time being. Trying out different medical options can lead to undesirable consequences. For example, taking various dosages very often makes diseases more resilient.

Visiting different doctors from time to time is not always a suitable choice for patients. Their usual physician has a record of treatments, and can give good instructions. On the other hand, patients have to inform their conditions if they see another physician although the doctor can read the record. Moreover, the new physician tends to direct to make medical check-ups for new patients. Consequently, it costs more money, making difficult for people who are not financially able to do so.

In conclusion, people should stick to their usual doctor for a particular time to make sure efficient for their health care.