Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s society, the trend of using alternative medicines and treatments rather than visiting doctors is attracting the attention of a massive number of people with health issues. However, this tendency may lead to adverse effects for patients because of the possibility of interacting with the primary drug and the lack of clarity about the usage of traditional medicines and treatments.

Firstly, every medicine has a potential interaction with other drugs. Therefore, knowing the correct dosage and side effects when using complementary therapy or herbal supplements is pivotal. This can be done by consulting with a doctor, as not everyone has a medical background. As an illustration, consuming amlodipine and curcumin is prohibited for patients with hypertension as it may cause harmful effects. Consequently, patients should consult reliable dietary supplement resources with the doctor to help them assess the safety of specific herbal supplements and drug combinations.

Additionally, a lack of scientific evidence for conventional medicines and treatments creates ambiguity about proper dosages and procedures. As a result, this may exacerbate health outcomes, increasing healthcare costs. Take using acupuncture as an example. Although this non-pharmacological therapy is relatively safe and effective, it is contraindication in patients with coagulopathy conditions such as hemophilia, leading to the risk of bleeding.

In summary, consuming traditional medicines and treatments without consulting with physicians is not recommended as it may worsen health conditions. Owing to the prospect of drug interaction and the absence of evidence-based instructions on how to use conventional treatments, it is suggested that they be used under doctor supervision.