Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children's mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that children’s mental abilities can be negatively affected if they allocate an excessive amount of time on watching televisions and playing video games. While I understand why some people may oppose this statement, I still agree with it for several reasons.

Opponents of this view may have several arguments. They may well argue that watching programs on TV and playing computer games can help children unwind and improve their critical thinking. Regarding the former, it is undeniable that engaging in such activities can enable children to release stress and boost their moods, alleviating the risks of mental disorders such as depression. This can allow them to feel delightful and excited during their pastimes, which are crucial parts of a child’s life. With regard to the latter, playing video games can help children develop their critical thinking since they have to use strategies and tricks to win the games. This requires creativity and problem-solving skills of a child, thus enhancing their vision and strategic abilities, which are useful for their academic and future career paths.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, I hold the belief that the negative consequences of spending too much time on watching TV and playing video games are far more significant. The first reason for my argument is that looking at the screens for a long time can lead to a large number of brain-related diseases such as headache. This can negatively affect children’s life, both academic performances and personal matters. The second reason is that many programs and video games contain violence- related elements. Therefore, children who not fully develop their knowledge and awareness might be influenced by these elements, thus ignoring the malicious nature of them and even mimicking them. As a result, those children may become violent people and then undermine other individuals.

In conclusion, I acknowledge why some may not support that watching TV and engaging in computer games can have adverse impacts on children’s mental abilities. However, I still strongly agree with this viewpoint due to the aforementioned reasons.