Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Can you imagine yourself thoroughly immersed in virtual reality without realizing what is really happening around you? It is a vision that many people believe is closer than we think. A number of individuals sincerely believe that the younger generation is becoming more addicted to TV and play station consoles, which have a negative effect on children’s psychic. Personally, I do not share these concerns. From my perspective, such gadgets cannot destroy one’s mental health, and vice versa, using these devices helps develop an individual’s mind.

The argument that there can be no advantages to playing video games seems unjustified. Even though parents face some situations when their children are in virtual reality for a long period of time, it does not really mean that youngsters are thoroughly lost there and do not develop at all. For example, playing video games may improve general brain activity. Moreover, various online games can hone one’s skills, such as communication, multitasking and strategy.

Secondly, watching television may have its merits as well. This statement implies that young people all over the world may broaden their horizons regarding any school subject. It means that children might mentally improve their brains and become wiser and more intellectual by watching a myriad of historical and scientific programmes where a great deal of useful information is provided.

On the opposite side, some might argue that playing a number of video games and watching TV a lot has only negative implications. Such people tend to subscribe to the opinion that children might become more socially inhibited. Despite being quite reasonable, this argument is worthless since video games, as a shining example, may unite people of diverse religious and nationalities by providing online options to connect. With online tournaments, young people may communicate with one another and even master their language skills.

All things considered, it is my firm conviction that TV and video games may play such a positive and pivotal role in a person’s development. Contrary to the popular belief that gadgets have only adverse effects on a child’s mind, electronic devices can mentally nurture an individual on a large scale.