Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for child's mental health. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

In the current digital era, children spend a substantial amount of time watching television and playing video games. The general consensus surrounding these activities is that children’s mental health is deteriorating as a result. While the use of technology in the form of television and video games subjects children to several positive effects, I significantly agree with the idea that these activities are quite beneficial to a child’s mental health.

The overuse of technological gadgets can have serious implications on an adolescent’s cognitive development. While these devices provide some form of entertainment, they often lack the ability to stimulate the brain in ways that create cognitive growth. Unlike traditional activities that teach problem solving skills, reading, and creativity, the passive screen time limits attention spans, leading to difficulties in concentration and emotional development.

If left unattended, the effects of unrestricted TV and video game screen time can be detrimental to a youngster’s emotional and social development. Many children’s shows, programs, and video games contain violence and inappropriate content for children which can negatively impact their emotional health. Exposure to such material creates numbness in their emotional palettes, making it harder for children to connect with one another. Furthermore, spending significant time engaging with their screens instead of socializing with their peers can lead to isolation and lack of development in their social skills. Over time, the isolation can create a sense of anxiety, challenges in empathy and difficulty in building friendships.

In conclusion, while the ever-increasing digital landscape of gadgets offers some positive aspects such as educational content and entertainment, I believe that the excessive use of these activities can have more significant negative effects on a child’s mental health. The substantial negative consequences on emotional, cognitive, and social fronts substantially outweigh the miniscule benefits.