Nowadays cities are becoming overcrowded. What are the causes of this? What effects can be seen as a result of this?

The fact that the world’s cities are becoming more and more crowded is well-known. Cities such as Tokyo, São Paulo, Mumbai, and Shanghai are now considered ‘megacities’ because of their enormous size and huge populations. There are two main reasons why these and other cities are becoming so crowded: one economic, the other socio-cultural.

First, the primary cause of cities becoming so crowded is economic. As a country develops, its cities become the engines of development, and thus, jobs are available in these areas. Frankfurt, Istanbul, Mumbai, and São Paulo are all the economic centers of their countries. For example, Tokyo was the driving force behind Japan’s rapid economic development in the 1960s and 1970s, and as a result, its population increased rapidly. People moved to Tokyo because they could find employment and establish economic security for themselves and their families there.

Second, another factor in the huge increase in urban populations is the socio-cultural factor. Thousands of people migrate to the cities not only for jobs but also for educational and personal reasons. The better universities are always located in big cities, and this attracts thousands of students every year, and these students stay on and work in the city after they graduate. Moreover, young people will move to the city as the villages and rural areas are more custom- and tradition-oriented. Therefore, young people believe this is an obstacle to their personal freedom.

In conclusion, economic and cultural factors are the major causes of the huge urban population. People will always move to the areas that provide opportunity and to the places that can give them the freedom they desire.