Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary world, public transport is more funded by governments in comparison with putting into quality and versatile roads. This essay will provide reasons of this trend and discuss its negative implicatios for traffic congestion and city’s underdevelopment.

There are two reasons why authorities prefer investing money in urban transit. Firstly, in order to decreasing the number of cars in the city. For instance, many individuals prefer to buying private transport for comfort and time saving. However, over time it becomes a signifisant issue which creates road accidents and traffic jams. Secondly, for securing the environment; buses, trains and subway generates less emissions rather than privat cars. Subsequently, it is a pewerful tool against the air pollution and climat changes.

However, this has negative consequences. One major consequence is traffic congestion, the more transports in the urban area, the more expanded roads should be there. As a result, ignoring the road systems can create prolonged traffic congestion and a high number of severe road situations. Furthermore, it can also lead to lagged development of the city; road infrastructure should be high-quality in each city due to economic impact; it is crucial to maintain the urban condition, rather than focusing solely on expanding transport systems, balanced approach is essential.

To conclude, governments donate more finance in public transport by the desire for reducing the number of private transport and environment. However, this trand results in significant adverse effects on traffic jams and city’s underdevelopment. Governments should strike a financial balance between road system and public transport.