nowadays in many countries, more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families

Nowadays, there is an escalating debate concerning the decline in family awareness, which has elicited widespread attention and rigorous discussion worldwide. Many contend that contemporary fast-paced lifestyles are the culprit, whereas others maintain that the diminishing on the concept of family is primary reason. This essay will scrutinize both perspectives before articulating a personal standpoint and then propose corresponding consequences. While both positions possess substantial merit, I am firmly of the opinion that the main reason behind this phenomenon is the fast-paced lifestyle.

It is understandable why some individuals may endorse the notion that the pivotal reason for the lack of family awareness is the inadequacy of the family concept. They frequently contend that, in modern life, technology has been updated comprehensively, enabling people to socialize conveniently. Thereby, the relationship of individuals have been enlarged, not only limited to family members. Consequently, the family bond would not be as strong as before, so people will ultimately decrease their time spent on family. This perspective is certainly not devoid of merit, as it underscores how a diminishing awareness leads to subconsciously neglect.

Nevertheless, I am strongly convinced that the fast-paced lifestyle is the pivotal reason causing this trend. A compelling rationale for this is that, nowadays, the fast-paced lifestyle undoubtedly places everyone in a state of rushing. This trend, not only increases people’s living pressure, but also shrinks people’s free time. To illustrate, many families have at least one of the family members who has to work far away from home or even all day in order to feed their family. Therefore, although the counterargument has certain validity, it fails to fully account for the fact that familial companionship is fundamentally based on having sufficient material resources.

In my view, this trend has multiple impacts on themselves and their families. Most significantly, the lack of family time will leave them with a sense loneliness. In the traditional sense, the family was always regarded as the safe haven, providing the protection and a place for real relaxation. No matter how the world has changed, the concept of family is still essential for one’s mind, without which, one must feel isolated, while other family members also suffer from this emotional estrangement.

In conclusion, despite the presence of persuasive arguments on both sides, I steadfastly maintain that the culprit behind this trend is the fast-paced lifestyle. It is evident that such high pressure society shrinks individuals’ time. However, the drawback of this trend is also significant. Hence, society should implement policies to help people strike a life-work balance.