nowadays in many countries, more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families

In the past, family time used to be regarded by virtually everyone as sacred and something that could not be missed. However, today, in many nations, more and more people are spending increasingly more time away from their families. This rising tendency can be attributed to the increasing detachment among family members and stressful work lives. As a result of this transition, individuals themselves run the risk of lacking immediate assistance, and bonds between members can be badly damaged.

The decreased amount of time spent with families can be explained by two causes, the first being the loss of emotional connections within families. It is observable that many families now do not put as much emphasis on emotional bonding as they did in the past. This can be demonstrated in ways such as the excessive use of electronic devices during family meals or people’s indifference to family bonding occasions. As these continue, certain members grow uncomfortable and confined in their own homes, causing them to allocate more of their time away from home to look for other connections. Additionally, stressful work lives prevent them from being with their loved ones. A plethora of people now either have packed schedules filled with compulsory deadlines or are too focused on making ends meet because of their struggling financial backgrounds, causing an inability to invest time in their parents and siblings despite their emotional attachment.

Shrinking family time may potentially contribute to two negative effects. Firstly, individually, people may not receive the immediate support that they need. It should be understood that citizens’ periods outside the family can be continuous and span days without any contact from either side. As a result, they can lose touch with each other; and in the worst-case scenarios, emergencies such as an in-home accident may occur without close relatives knowing and providing help, resulting in dangerous possibilities. Secondly, on a familial scale, family bonds can even break to the point of being irreversible. For those who involuntarily spend time away, strong bonds can be broken in an unwanted way. For already emotionally detached households, the weakened bonds may even be destroyed entirely. In short, this consequence is not limited to anyone.

In conclusion, the shrinking of family time can be put down to weakened attachments and a constraining work life, which can result in dangerous situations and severely cut familial love.