Nowadays in many countries people are following the latest fashion, hairstyle and so on. Why are they so influenced by fashion? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, the global influence of fashion and hairstyles has grown suddenly and reached unprecedented levels, with inhabitants across the nation rushing to keep up with the latest trends. This issue may raise concerns about personal finances. This essay will explore the reasons behind this phenomenon and prove that this is a largely negative development.

One key reason for the strong influence of fashion and hairstyles are the omnipresence of advertising in social media and celebrity endorsements. Popular platforms such as Tiktok, Facebook and Instagram expose users to the latest trends, creating the desire to be owned called FOMO (fear of missing out) along with the great influence of famous artists like Blackpink or BTS makes fans as well as users want to keep up with the dominating trend. For example, influencers frequently share images of themselve wearing trendy outfits, which rapidly gain attention admiration. As a result, people always have to compete and trample on each other to own the items that celebrities are using.

Following fashion and hairstyle trends can have detrimental effects on individuals, particularly in terms of financial strain. The fact that citizens constantly spend money to buy fashion and beautify themsevle, although improving their appearance may be an advantage, over time will lead to overspending and debt. For instance, many inhabitants feel completely unable to purchase expensive things to express themselve and fit in with their peers, even if that requires other essential spending. The financial burden from the above problem can cause long-term stress and negatively impact people’s life by continually thinking about how to pay for debt or keep abreast with friends.

To sum up, the increasing influence of fashion is primarily driven by social platforms and celebrities’ marketing strategies. Meanwhile, it cannot be denied that the financial pressure this trend causes on citizens is greater than any potential benefits.