Nowadays increasing overweight is a problem, some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module in all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, with the advent of processed foods, the number of obese people is rising significantly. Other than that, even the youngest are becoming lazier and they prefer video games over sports. In fact, many people believe that universities should make sport a compulsory module in all degree courses.

Personally, I completely agree with this view but I also believe universities should educate students on how important high-quality food is.

Currently, people are extremely busy and lazy thus, they tend to opt for quicker meals, which most of the time are not the healthiest version. For example, they tend to consume fatty and fried foods rather than nutrient-dense options. This problem is correlated with the lack of exercise. In fact, it is important to educate students and make them aware of how movement is important for their health. By improving their eating habits and starting to move more, they would have many benefits. Furthermore, obesity and a sedentary lifestyle are related to numerous health problems such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, and heart attacks. Since we are different from each other, schools should offer different kinds of activities such as pilates, swimming, running, volleyball and others.

Moreover, sport has many advantages for mental health. It helps release endorphins which make us feel better. In addition to that, sport helps the brain maintain fast processing of thoughts. In fact, people who play sports, are often brilliant and successful in school.

To conclude, I firmly believe sports should be made mandatory because it would be beneficial to everybody’s health and thus, an investment in our future health.