Nowadays, it has become easier for young people to have a credit card compared to the past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, youngsters find it easier to obtain a credit card as compared to the past. Credit cards do have some advantages such as easier transactions and discounts but the disadvantages including the massive amounts of debt they can incur over time outweight the advantage in my opinion.

There are many advantages of getting a credit card as it allows for easier transactions, rather than managing cash one can carry a single card. Performing easy online transactions just with the click of a button is another prominent advantage. But if you ask someone getting a credit card, most would say it is due to the truly mouth watering discount and cashback deals companies and brands have on credit cards.

While there are undeniable advantages of having a credit card it can cause severe and life altering setbacks as many people fall into the debt trap. We all think we are smart enough not too go beyond our budget but sooner or later we see some materialistic item which we cannot afford but we use our credit card to purchase it. Our logic behind this seems sound to us as we swear we will just pay off the debt next month. But one either forgets about paying it off on time or another more dire expense appears. Over time this debt piles up and eventually there is a giant hole of interest as well which in most cases is charged at a higher rate than other types of debt.

In conclusion, I believe there are solid pros and cons of credit cards. But the truly staggering problems they can cause later in life warrant that we stay away from them, and spend well within our means.