Nowadays, it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

In the growing world of technology and electronic money, one of the easiest ways to shop is a credit card and it is much easier to apply for it and get one. A credit card has a lot of benefits, as well as drawbacks, that we will discuss in the essay.

Getting a credit card takes around 10 min of your time today, and will cost you nothing as the card is free. It diminishes the physical or paper cash and makes it much easier to purchase almost everything. For example, if you need to buy a laptop, and you have a credit card, you do not need to worry about carrying cash. That means you just need to swipe the card at the purchase counter and electronic money will be transferred as no cash is required. A credit card also comes with a lot of discounts as well, which makes goods eventually cheaper than the actual price.

A big disadvantage of keeping a credit card is to pay the debts on time, else per day fine can be claimed by the bank/institution from where the credit card has been taken. For example, if you do not pay the credit card bill on time, an extra amount will be charged depending on the number of days from the payment date. This also hampers the peace of mind. A lot of people fall short of money and keep on paying extra in case they have missed the payment date.

To sum up, there are a lot of advantages of credit cards but then if the payment is not done on time there can be circumstances where a person can feel that it is more of a liability than an asset.