Nowadays, it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

In an era dominated by digital technology, it has become remarkably easy to apply for and receive credit cards. However, some people encounter multifarious challenges when they are unable to pay their debts off on time. I believe that it boils down to how people use credit cards, as some can take advantage of them, others often end up getting into trouble. This implies that if individuals utilize them thoughtfully, advantages of this trend can be profound.

One of the primary reasons lies in the fact that credit cards have become an integral part of our financial lifestyles, yielding great opportunities and accessibility for career prospects. Individuals now open credit card accounts and borrow money seamlessly at their convenience and enjoy bonuses and rewards they offer. This trend has gained momentum as a manifestation of making purchases with loans, mortgages and other lines of credit. People now no longer have to wait until they accumulate enough money to buy a house or a car due to the availability of credit cards that offer monthly payments. What is more, workers facing high income volatility, credit cards serve as a bridge to cover their expenses in their low income days. At such times, short-term loans come in handy to ease their financial burden.

Notwithstanding that people achieve financial security through borrowing money, some of them face uphill challenges which stem from credit cards. In our cashless society, purchasing any items with just a swipe, tap and click that can be done in a matter of seconds often leads to overconsumption and impulsive decisions. Consequently, people fall into crippling debts and pay the price in the long run. Temporary fulfillment turns out to be a trade-off, as a term “no free lunch” proves this fact. A case in point is compounding interest which is acute for people. Without cautious actions and contemplating future outcomes, their debts increase exponentially over time. Everything can backfire and severe debts ultimately derail financial stability. Furthermore, there are always scams and fraud which threaten credit card users. Security systems attempt to investigate fraudulent use, yet not with heightened vigilance. As a result, they potentially succumb to bankruptcy which can be even more overwhelming.

In my view, this phenomenon is advantageous provided that people know how to exploit it, nevertheless financially illiterate individuals only encounter its adverse effects. While forward-thinking individuals often have contingency plans to keep going, those who are ignorant about the terms of credit cards suffer from its drawbacks and even lose mental health.

To conclude, although credit cards offer numerous advantages such as convenience and financial security, they often come with shortcomings including compounding interest and scams. I firmly believe that benefits are, to some extend, superior for only financially literate people, but not for incautious individuals.