Some people enjoy change in life, while other people try to avoid it. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches ?

Many individuals love to adjust in the course of their lives. Others seem to avoid adjustments. This essay presents some advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Firstly, change enhances personal growth. In many walks of life different people who learn adaptability tend to grow in their careers and skills. Many of them learn new skills and create valuable networks for the time being. Adjustments also build a feeling of resilience in situations which are unpredictable. For example, some people who relocate to a different city learn to adapt quickly to this new environment in order to survive. If a person moves from a city with no traffic to a city with heavy traffic in the mornings they quickly balance their wake-up time to meet up. However, this shift leads to burn-out and stress. Having to move from one place to another takes a toll on a person’s mental health and also affect physical performance.

On the other hand, avoiding frequent change leads to a strong maintenance of friendships. People who enjoy making changes in their lives may struggle to build or maintain personal relationships. They may also be unable to maintain long-term friendships. This is not the case for those who prefer to maintain their positions as they would be available and present for people around them if need arises.

For instance, a person who has lived in a particular neighborhood for many years would always be present for memorable events of their friends and colleagues such as birthdays, weddings and graduation. Nevertheless, avoiding changes may lead to stagnation. When people live in a place for too long, they tend to be comfortable and this may have a negative impact on their personal dev0elopment.

In conclusion, change increases the chances of personal growth in people who embrace it. However, it leads to physical burn-out and mental stress. Conversely, people who stay away from change have a higher chance of maintaining long-term relationships. However this could lead to stagnancy.