Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep

A highly debated issue in recent years relates to sleep deprivation. While insufficient sleep causes serious problems for individuals’ mental well-being and performance at the workplace, this problem can be tackled through practical measures.

To commence with, sleeping fewer than required has detrimental effects on people’s emotional stability. This makes them vulnerable to psychological illnesses, such as depression and burnout. As a result of disrupted sleeping patterns, some functions of a person’s brain cannot work appropriately and fail to regulate certain emotions. Recent research done by the Ministry of Health of The Republic of Uzbekistan shows that people who do not get enough sleep are more likely to suffer from mental illnesses than others. Moreover, a shortage of sleep affects individuals’ focus. Not only will this have a negative impact on their productivity in the workplace, but it can also even culminate in catastrophic consequences for people’s lives. For example, if a taxi driver has chronic sleep loss and is unable to concentrate entirely on driving, it will undoubtedly result in a traffic fatality.

However, it is possible to solve this problem effectively through the coordinated actions of both the government and individuals. Firstly, people should make their structured sleeping routines and avoid using smartphones before going to bed. This is because the light superseded from the screen of gadgets is the main factor that causes sleep disturbance. By doing this, people can potentially mitigate sleep-related problems independently. Secondly, the government can reduce the working hours of employees, who work in high-pressure industries, such as finance or medicine because most of these workers struggle to find enough time for having rest. That is why this helps them achieve a work-life balance and obtain sufficient time to sleep.

In conclusion, restricted sleep duration causes a number of problems for today’s society. However, it could conceivably be solved via structuring appropriate sleeping habits and avoiding the use of phones at night. In addition, government intervention also plays a vital role in combatting with this issue.