Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play video games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing video games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Computers have become a very crucial factor in our society when nowadays many children use them every day. In that chance, they are able to access and play computer games on a wide basis, which has brought so many positive and negative impacts on them.

SO, WHAT ARE SOME OF THESE POSITIVE AND NEGATIVE IMPACTS, AND HOW CAN THE NEGATIVE ONES BE MINIMIZED.

The definition of computer games is very large, and many games have advantages for the growth of children’s brains. Chess is a direct example of children playing chess which is a solution to improve their mindset strategy. Playing chess and similar games on computers opens an opportunity to face competitors from around the world, which is better than the traditional board game. Modern education is also developing many lessons by game type, WHOSE PURPOSE IT IS TO HAVE CHILDREN PLAY THE GAMES. With this solution, computer games are a great tool FROM WHICH teachers can build EFFECTIVE lessons.

However, there are negative impacts from computer games that we cannot avoid. Students become addicted quickly to gaming. One problem is becoming addicted to violent games. Another problem is that gaming takes children away from socializing with friends and family, because of their addiction. One example of violent behavior is 15 years ago, in a poor village in Vietnam, there was a teenager who attacked his grandmother with a kitchen knife. His purpose was to have two dollars to play at an internet shop. He thought his grandmother would revive after 15 seconds as in the game CS he played. This is a direct example of the impact of addiction on playing computer games.

Although there might be a solution to reduce this negative impact, children do spend time on computer games might be because they lack outdoor activities and entertainments, or more importantly, they don’t have anyone to play with. The parent should use free time to play with their children more frequently. Sharing time for quality connection among family members also helps parents to understand their children and reduces the chance that kids get addicted to computer games. Therefore, in my opinion, parents need to be more present with their children, which is the best solution to help them grow healthier both physically and mentally.