Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play video games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing video games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In today’s modernized world, everyone utilizes the Internet daily on their computers and laptops, including kids. The main problem caused by that is it can ruin children’s future social lives, and this can be tackled by offering them new games that can be played with groups.

Nowadays, adults mostly use computers for several reasons, such as work, education and research, while kids only play video games on computers. As the world around kids is new to them, they need to explore and learn about it by using their senses and feeling everything. One of the most essential skills children must learn on their own is how to communicate, which is only possible if they socialize. However, technological devices, especially computers distract them from the real world, as kids are easily attracted by shiny and colorful things, which are exact words to define video games. Considering that young brains are ready to absorb every piece of information, including the harmful ones, video games can be hazardous for kids as they can include mature content or horror. A kid with a damaged and traumatized brain is not able to adapt to other children and will be left behind in the future. Research that has been done recently proves the fact that kids who play video games are usually not able to fit in with their peers and their families.

One vital solution to the problem of children spending too much time playing video games is for parents and teachers to come up with new activities or games that include group work. Parents can solve this issue by taking their kids to parks or game groups to get them to meet their peers. Playing with other kids and befriending them can increase social abilities and communication between them. Besides, new activities that involve working in groups can be added to the curriculum by teachers. Physical sports that require teamwork, such as football, basketball or volleyball or music performances that can be played in ensembles can lift their social skills as they demand interacting with other people.

In conclusion, the problems related to kids’ playing video games and using computers are their lack in communication in their social lives. Encouraging them to meet other kids and make new friends by obliging them to interact in group activities can solve this problem.