Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play video games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing video games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In modern times, many children can have access to online games due to the wide accessibility of computers. This essay aims to discover the biggest problems caused by this situation and suggest some feasible solutions to mitigate these issues.

To begin with, as children can access and play online games at ease, several problems can be anticipated. This is because games are mostly designed to attract players’ attention by constantly in-game prizes. Many children these days often sacrifice too much time trying to progress through levels of games, leading to less amount of time allocated for other vital aspects of life such as studies or social networks. In the long term, this can result in poor performances in the school or children with poor social skills. In addition to that , being glued to the screen for a long period of time means children live a sedentary lifestyle. The consequences of this is the increasing rates of health problems due to lack of exercises such as obesity or eye-related problems

However, the mentioned negative effects of children allocating too much time for playing games can be alleviated by some practical measures. Firstly, parents and schools should come up with other healthy alternatives for children to play in their spare time. Parents, for example, can provide their offspring with board games or puzzles, which not only can help them relax and entertain, but also develop their imagination and intelligence. Another way forward might be educating children about serious consequences of playing games. These potential detrimental outcomes can act as a deterrent for these young people, making them not have the nerve to play games for a long time.

In conclusion several methods can be taken to ease the problems that computer-based games cause to children.