Nowadays many women have a full-time job and spend most of the day away from home. In what ways has this affected family life? Is this development positive or negative?

In modern days, lots of women chose to have a full-time job, committing majority of the time of the day to that cause. This change, surely have impact on family dynamics and relationships. While most of people argue if this is an improvement for society or else, i will say that, like everything, it has his pros and cons.

When we talk about a full-time employment, we know for a fact that the definition of traditional family roles for women are no longer aviable. In the past, woman were relegated only to domestic chores, such as cleaning and making the food, and rise the children. This surely led to gender inequality in private life and also in the public aspect. Nowadays lots of studies have demonstrate that when a woman has to take care of professional responsability, the majority of men partecipate more actively in household duty, lowering the differencies between the two genders. This can also be a good solution for children, because they will witness collaborative parenting and this for sure will goodly affect their social skills and gudgement. On the other hand children can be neglected when both parents are away for their full-time jobs, and this can create some emotional distance in between the family members. This lack of interaction can be crucial for the family life and development. It is a fact that having a double income for the family, increase the financial disposition so this distance can be tried to cover with lots of service, like daycare or after-school programs.

In conclusion, as already said, there are some pros and cons that are pretty much equal; it depends a lot on the personal ability of the family and individual, to adapt the different dynamics and prioritize what do they think it’s for the best.