Nowadays many women have a full-time job and spend most of the day away from home. In what ways has this affected family life? Is this development positive or negative?

The family life has always been linked to the figure of woman as the person strictly bind to home and to its services while, nowadays, the view is totally different, women have the same opportunities of men and I believe this is an enhancement into society and in the family.

Firstly, women who work can prevent economics family issues, this allows a less stressful environment between partners. Likewise, women can understand their passions and skills in order to improve their satisfaction that it is reflected to family members. In addition, this context can give a good example to children, teaching to them gender equity concepts: for example in the 1950s in Italy it was strange saw a girl doing a job due to the ancient families concept.

However, the absences and the stress linked to a full-time job can lead to issues for some reasons. To begin, having parents busy for many hours, could jeopardize the relationships with children, in fact many times children are also left to kindergarden for several days. Furthermore, parents are likely to come back from work tired, so they can not even give to children the proper attentions, for this reason there is a steep rise of DINK families across the world, namely double income and no kids.

To sum up, in my point of view it is undoubtly important to allow women to have the life they want and having a family in the same time, in spite of challenges they will cope due to the work-life balance.