Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks which involve hard physical work are done by machines. Do the positive of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

Machines have replaced humans in many working areas today, and I believe the positives of this change outweigh the negative influence it brings.

The major reasons for using machines to complete work are that their performances are more safe and efficient than those of human workers. Many tasks need safety training for workers to begin because they involve some dangerous operations, and without proper training and safe guidance, people could easily get injured. For example, welding electrical devices or metal cutting both require safety certifications in China to avoid people’s accidents and harm due to a lack of relevant knowledge and safety awareness. And using machines to complete the tasks can efficiently prevent these situations, so this is one of the major reasons why people choose to use machines. Another vital factor is that machines have higher productivity than humans. People would feel tired after hours of work, and machines do not. Therefore, many contemporary manufacturers and factories use machines rather than humans. Because machines can work continuously, it is impossible for humans to produce products without rest. By comparison, using machines led to increased productivity and time efficiency. Thus, the benefits of using machines are apparently seen.

However, using machines to replace humans’ work causes some changes. People become unemployed because their jobs have been taken by machines. And this is a problem for societies’ stability. Moreover, if machines have breakdowns or malfunctions, it is hard to fix the problem immediately for normal people. And hiring an expert or skilled person to help with the maintenance of machines means a rise in cost.

In conclusion, although using machines does cause some problems for humans, these can be solved by retraining people for new jobs or upgrading their skills to help operate and maintain the machines. From the productivity and efficiency machines’ have, I believe its positive side outweighs its negative side.