Nowadays, more and more people are living in a large city. What are the advantages and disadvantages for people living in a large city?

Nowadays, most people are moving to large cities. There are several causes of the popularity of large cities, such as accessibility of popular places, many shops, and high-quality service, etc. However, living in a metropolis can be detrimental to health and expensive because of the high price of most services. This essay will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

Let’s start by looking at the advantages of living in a large city. One of the main positives is the accessibility of public places, such as parks, courses, and restaurants. Moreover, the majority of entertainment centers are located in cities, which attracts many village inhabitants to move to the city. Another advantage of living in a big city is the variety of services. For example, if residents of metropolises order a pizza, delivery will take from 5 to 20 minutes, which is much faster than delivery in rural areas.

Turning to the other side of the argument, the cost of living includes the rent of an apartment, the price of products, and taxi fares. For instance, in France, the cost of living in big cities is 40 percent more expensive than the prices for basic needs outside the city. Another major drawback is that air pollution in metropolises can be detrimental to health. For example, in China, air pollution is equal to the smoke from 4 cigarettes. Furthermore, one of the biggest disadvantages of living in a big city is traffic jams. Most residents who work in the city have to face long traffic jams during rush hours, due to the overpopulation in metropolises.

In conclusion, dwelling in a big city has some benefits, such as easy access to public places and quality services. On the other hand, traffic jams, overpopulation, and air pollution can significantly affect health. Personally, I believe that the disadvantages of dwelling in a large city outweigh the advantages.