Nowadays, more and more people are living in a large city. What are the advantages and disadvantages for people living in a large city?

Nowadays, most people are moving to large cities. There is several causes of popularity of the large cities, such as accessibility of popular places, lots of shops, and high service, etc. However, living in a metropolis could be detrimental for a health and high price of most services. This essay will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

Let’s start by looking at the advantages of living in a large city. One of the main positives is the accessibility of public places, such as parks, courses, and restaurants. Moreover, the majority of entertainment centers are located in the cities, which attracts many village inhabitants to move to the city. Another advantage of living in a big city is the variety of services. For example, if residents of metropolises order a pizza, delivery will take from 5 to 20 minutes, which is much faster than delivery in rural places.

Turning to the other side of the argument, the cost of living includes the rent of an apartment, the price of products, and a taxi. For instance, in France, the cost of living in the big cities is 40 percent more expensive than the prices for basic needs outside the city. Another major drawback is that air pollution in the metropolises can be detrimental to health. For example, in China, air pollution is equal to the smoke of 4 cigarettes. Furthermore, one of the biggest disadvantages of living in a big city is traffic jams. Most of the residents who work in the city have to face long traffic jams in the rush hours, due to the overpopulation in the metropolises

In conclusion, dwelling in a big city has some benefits, such as easy access to public places and quality of services. On the other hand, traffic jams, overpopulation, and air pollution, could significantly affect on health. Personally, I believe that disadvantages of dwelling in a large city outweighs the advantages.